Tips for Organizing Your Kitchen

For those of us with very busy lifestyles, when we are at home, we need to be able to do everything we need to do as fast as we can, including preparing our meals for our family. This is why it is important for us to keep our kitchen organized and efficient. Bread Drawer InsertsTake a look around your kitchen. What do you see?  Do you see half empty bottles of condiments? Unused utensils? Plates and pots all at the same place? Then it’s time to organize your kitchen.

First things first, go through your entire kitchen starting with all surfaces. Go through all the stuff that seems to be on ‘display’. It may be decorative candles or artificial flowers, or a condiments tray left at the table. Whatever it is, always keep in mind, if it’s not needed on top of your sink or counters take it out. Next, open all your cabinets, drawers, pantry even your refrigerator. Get rid of any stuff that’s broken, expired or spoilt. Sometimes we don’t realize how much we tend to accumulate, and the best way to start organizing your kitchen is to de-clutter.

Next, look around and determine your work space. When you are preparing your dish and cooking, do you constantly need to go out of your way to get ingredients? Do your kitchen activities flow smoothly? If not, then you need to plot your space better. Store the utensils you use according to their activity. For example, store your chopping board, knives, measuring cups and spoons, mixing bowls, etc. near your prep area. While your cooking area should have your pots, pans, cooking spoons and everything else you need for cooking handy. Organizing your kitchen according to your workflow can do wonders in making a kitchen more efficient.Wood Utility Drawer Tray Inserts

Now that you’ve de-cluttered your kitchen and organized it according to your workflow, you can now start working on your storage space. You’ve already determined which utensils will go into which storage space based on your workflow, now we need to determine how we can maximize these storage spaces.  You’d be surprised at how much you can actually store in your cabinets and drawers by using the right shelving and organizers. Use cutlery trays for your drawers. This way, you don’t need to rummage in your drawer trying to find the right tool. Plus, if you store knives in your drawer, not only are your fingers safe from getting cut, but it Spice drawer inserts 50x21makes your knife blades last longer because this kitchen organizer prevents it from  hitting and rubbing against other knives. Another is you can double the storage space of each cabinet by putting in pull out double shelves. Double shelves may be easily installed inside existing cabinets and allows you to keep everything you need by doubling up the storage space inside, without investing in another set of cabinets. Remember, organizing your kitchen does not mean investing in new fixtures, it may mean simply enhancing your existing ones so they can function better.


3 responses to “Tips for Organizing Your Kitchen

  1. Pingback: Organizing Your Kitchen Pantry | OrganizationAccessories

  2. Hi there! I’m new to this site and have thoroughly eonjyed reading all of the tips. Thanks for sharing. Now, it’s my turn:There are a few thing s I have learned over the years -I hand all my cake pans up on the wall near the ceiling, so they are out of the way, but I can still see them to know what I have and they do not clutter my baking cabinet for the other pans I use frequently.-I put my medicines in small boxes divided into two main groups: my husbands stuff, and the kids and my stuff. That way, when I’m searching for something for the kids, I’m not pawing through my husbands’ medicine and won’t get them mixed up as easily esp since my oldest son’s name is the same as my husband’s. I use the Pampered chef measuring spoon and measuring cup instead of a bunch of them I like them because they adjust sizes depending on what measurement you need I keep two on hand, one for wet ingredients and one for dry ingredients. I put a measuring cup in each of my ingredient bins. (Example, since I use a cup measurement mostly for flour recipes, I leave a cup measuring cup in the flour Since I use 1/2 cup measurement for most recipes that have sugar, I leave a 1/2 cup in the sugar container ) OK, you get the idea. I have two drawers for kitchen utensils: one for commonly used items, and the other for not-so-often used items. That way, I’m not searching through a bunch of things for the item I use most often. I also keep a tool-turn-about ( another Pampered Chef item) near the stove for those items I use every day. OK, that’s enough for now Newbies shouldn’t steal the show.Thanks again for all the tips.
    From
    Jayanta

  3. This is basically just an exniosetn of the kit idea, but outside the kitchen. Put all the tools and supplies you’ll need for a particular task into a bag or box. For example, I have a drawing kit, with a sketchbook, pencils, sharpener, eraser, and the how-to-draw book I’m using, and I keep them all in a bag. When I’m ready to sketch, know I have everything I need to get right down to work. Even if I grab it while I’m running out the door, I know I’ll have all my stuff. And cleaning up is easy; everything goes back into the bag. Putting the bag back where it belongs is the black-belt level but at least if it’s all in the bag your work surface is clear. Other kits I have or have had are a stargazing kit (binoculars, planisphere, star charts, observing log, pen, red flashlight), homework kit (scratch paper, clip board, pens, pencils, erasers, calculator, ruler), gym kit (gym pass & lanyard, toiletries, sneakers, and gym clothes & towel””the last two replaced with clean as soon as I get home), and separate knitting kits for two projects (because I always have more than one going at a time.)There are two keys to the kit system: 1) So that little things don’t get lost, keep each kit in its own bag or box or basket.2) Buy duplicate equipment when necessary. You can get Fiskars school scissors or a mini stapler or a nice shatterproof ruler for less than $5, and you’ll save the aggravation of realizing that you took the tool you need out of your kit to use on some other project and forgot to put it back.
    From
    Tanveer

Let Us Know What You Think...

